Great Things Are Happening!

I went with David Schwartz to interview Ed Koch on Friday — he is as candid as ever.  I hope to have the first part of the interview up on www.tos50.com before the end of the week.

When I was in my early 50’s someone very close to me and not much older than I was had a stroke.  I watched he and his wife go through their savings while he was recovering, and for me that was very frightening.  Strokes run in my family.  My mom died of a stroke; her father had a stroke; her sister had a stroke, et cetera.  At the time I don’t know what scared me more, having a stroke or having to use all of our savings while recovering.  At that point I sort of had an epiphany:  I could better my eating habits and begin exercising more (which I did), but my genes still left me with a high risk of having a stroke; however, I could do something about paying for a long recovery.  That was when I convinced my husband that we both needed to buy long-term care health insurance.

Early 50’s is young to be searching for a long-term care health insurance policy, but we did just that.  I called an insurance broker who brought us various plans to look at and we did decide to buy one.  It wasn’t cheap, but peace of mind is worth a lot.  That was one of the smarter things that I have done in my life.  A year after taking out the policy I developed an aggressive form of breast cancer.  With the help of God, friends and family I managed to survive that experience, without using my long-term care policy, but buying such a policy after a recovery from cancer would have been very difficult, if not impossible, and/or very costly.  Insurance companies like to insure people who they consider a low risk.  When they have to leave their comfort zone, we wind up paying for it!   I mention this because we have information about long term care insurance on the website this week, and I hope you will take the time to read about it:  http://tos50.com/news/who-needs-long-term-care-insurance.

Also current on www.tos50.com is a video about a visit I made to the Mohican Trading Post, a fabulous, store in Leeds, New York, about ten minutes from Catskill.  You MUST look at all of the unusual and amazing products they are selling.  Just one, for example, if you want to go down Memory Lane, is a Davey Crockett hat.  Don’t we all remember The Ballad of Davey Crockett?  Also, make sure to look at all of the Indian artifacts, fabulous dolls, crafts, animal figurines, music boxes, et cetera — and above all, be sure to ask for an egg cream from their old-fashioned fountain.   http://tos50.com/sections/profiles-0.

Please continue to see what new items we will be adding very shortly to our E-store.  Our lite-up reading glasses continue to be very popular.  You can read with ease on airplanes, dark rooms, in bed while your partner sleeps, et cetera — and in public, they are very stylish:  http://tos50.myshopify.com/collections/frontpage/products/lite-up-readers-1

Have a great week.

Sandy Tankoos, President and Founder

TOS50.com

 

 

About Sandy

Entrepreneur
This entry was posted in News From TOS50.com. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

